There are many laws regarding drinking and driving in the state of Texas. If you or any one of your passengers is caught with an open container of alcohol in a motor vehicle, you will have to pay a fine of up to $500. If you, the driver, have a blood or breath alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or above, you are considered legally drunk and will be under arrest for a Texas DUI offense.
License suspension in Texas
If you are stopped on suspicion of drunken driving, you will be asked to take a BAC test. You have the right to refuse taking this test, but if you do so, your driver’s license will be automatically suspended for 180 days. Also, if you take the test and fail to pass, your license will be suspended for 90 days.
Consequences of insurance companies
If you are arrested for a DUI offense in Texas, your car insurance will also suffer. If your insurance company decides to keep your policy, you can anticipate your premiums to go up appreciably. However, your insurance company may decide instead to drop your policy.
Get legal help from criminal law attorneys
DUI charges are complicated. Contacting a criminal attorney in Fort Worth can be of great help to prove your innocence and protect your legal rights. When charged with a DUI or DWI, you will require the services of a skilled criminal defense DUI lawyer.