Property damage to a car is often paid for by the insurance companies. However, the main question is whose insurance company pays?
If another driver caused your accident, he or she is responsible for the cost to repair your car. The other driver usually has insurance that will pay for those costs. According to Florida insurance law, all drivers in Florida must carry at least $10,000 in coverage per crash for property damage. If the other driver’s insurance company pays for your damage, you do not have to worry about paying your deductible.
If you were at fault for the crash, your insurance company pays to repair your car. Your only out-of-pocket expense will be your agreed-upon deductible under the policy, which is usually $500 to $1,000. If you do not have collision coverage, your insurance company does not have to pay.
Sometimes a claim for property damage is simple if liability is clear or both drivers have insurance. It gets more complicated when the insurance companies cannot on agree on who was at fault for the accident or one or both of the drivers had no insurance.
If you have been injured in a car accident or are having trouble getting your car repaired after the accident, speak with an attorney who can file a Fort Lauderdale personal injury lawsuit on your behalf and seek the compensation you deserve.