Having had the misfortune to meet with a personal injury, you now need to know your legal options for recourse. Making claims against negligent defendants and their insurance companies for severe injuries, or the wrongful death of a loved one, is a daunting legal process.
Motor vehicle accidents caused by distracted driving and other acts of negligence lead to physical injury, metal stress, and property loss. This calls for immediate legal action.
What does the law in Colorado Springs say?
An injured plaintiff is entitled to compensation for economic and non-economic losses caused by the negligence of another. This typically includes recompense for the following:
- The estimate value of economic losses – Examples include property damage, medical expenses (present and future), and loss of wages
- Non-economic damages – Generally non-monetary, as the name suggests. Examples include physical pain and emotional grief. These are capped by state law and cannot exceed $250,000, although this figure may, in rare circumstances, be adjusted
What is the Comparative Negligence law in Colorado?
In certain states, even a slight contribution to the accident or injury by an injury victim may make it more difficult to seek compensation from the person or entity responsible. In Colorado, if your level of negligence in causing the accident is 49 percent or less in comparison to that of the defendant in your case, you may still sue, but the ultimate amount awarded in a verdict will be adjusted down.
An experienced Colorado Springs personal injury attorney can come up with an effective strategy to help you not only win your lawsuit, but maximize the amount you ultimately collect in compensation.
Contact us for assistance
Colorado gives you two years from the date of your accident to file a lawsuit. Seek experienced legal representation as soon after you sustain injuries as possible, in order to achieve a fair settlement or judgment faster.