In Maryland, those who have been accused of driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI) are at risk of suffering from serious consequences. While DUIs and DWIs are separate charges with different penalties, punishments upon conviction of either may entail losing more than just your driver’s license. An experienced criminal defense lawyer can give you a chance to beat the charges and costly fines. He or she can also help you protect your social and professional lives.
If your alcohol concentration is .08 or higher at the time of the testing, your Maryland driver’s license will be confiscated and you will be issued an Order of Suspension. Your license will also be suspended if you refuse to submit to the test. The suspension period on your license varies, depending on your alcohol concentration level.
- If your alcohol concentration level is 0.08 but less than 0.15 the suspension period will be 45 days for your first offense, and 90 days for a second or subsequent offense.
- If your alcohol concentration is over 0.15 the suspension will be 90 days for your first offense, and 180 days for a second or subsequent offense.
- If you refuse to submit to a test, the suspension will be 120 days for a first offense and one year for a second or subsequent offense.
DUI and DWI charges in Maryland can be complex. Retaining an experienced, knowledgeable criminal defense attorney from a Rockville DUI law firm is imperative if you want to protect your rights.